the byte community forums

Things I Wished People Told Me Before Attending College

Hey guys, I just started college earlier this year so I’m in my second semester as a freshman. There are a few things that I wished that people would have told me before I attended and things I wish I knew that I want to share with you guys just in case you’re about to attend college.

1. It’s okay if you don’t know what you want to do. My first semester I was a meteorology major. I love the weather but I saw how hard and difficult it was to study it as it involved a lot of math/physics so I changed my major to journalism. I am much more happier and I don’t regret switching. My point is that, everyone will find out what they want to do some point in their college career even if it’s much later on than the average student.
  2. Don’t force relationships. I was stressing sooo much about gaining friends and what not in the first few weeks of college. My social anxiety was real bad and I’m normally an introvert so to try to force these relationships was hard for me. I realized that it’s ok if I don’t have friends right away. I just enjoyed the people who I had in the here and now and I let the new friends come naturally. There is no need to stress over gaining friends. They will happen, it may take a while, it may be quick. It’s different for everyone, but don’t worry about that.
  3. You don’t have to be best friends with your roommate. A common misconception I see is that most people become “bffs” with their roommate. That is not totally true. I believe that as long as you have a nice relationship with them, it’s fine. Kinda like number 2, try not to force things. Just let it happen naturally.
  4. Procrastination…it’s wild. I procrastinate wayyy more in college than in High School because my college schedule is less structured. To help prevent procrastination, I suggest having some sort of notebook to write the stuff you have to do down so everything is a bit more organized.