the byte community forums

A tool to easily make better Byte videos

Hello all,

My name is Nadal, I’m a recent software engineering graduate from UCSC. For the last couple years I’ve been working on a little side project that I wanted to share with all of you because a lot of the inspiration came from v*ne and it’s community.

I’ve been a big fan of social media and it’s power to connect and grow it’s audience and users, but where I saw some room for improvement was the process of creating a lot of the content that makes these networks thrive. The better the content, the more people will engage. It’s simple. That’s what made v*ne so successful. You guys. The content creators.

After watching many vners explain their rigorous and time consuming process of creating their vnes(some upwards of six hours!), I knew I could help- not just for the big guys, but for us little ones, the amateurs, the beginners, the dreamers who want to create amazing videos but just don’t know how or don’t have the time to!

So! I went on a quest to reinvent one of the greatest inventions of our time - the mobile camera! I wanted to combine the tasks of capturing and editing videos into one seamless process, as well as incorporate functionality that catered to you guys, v*ners!

And soooooooo! I did! I created an iOS app called Metronome! Here were some commons themes I found in popular v*nes that I wanted to be able to capture and allow my users to easily create:

• record with and without music
  • have as many songs/sound effects in a single video.
  • be able to add songs/sound effects wherever in a single video.
  • be able to interchange scenes between recording with and without music.
  • add multiple filters to a single video.

And this is just the beginning! I have some more ideas and functionality I wanted to add to the app to allow you guys to easily create even better videos! BUT! It’s been hard, I haven’t had the time and resources to grow this project as much as I should!